AFA Welcomes New Leaders

February 10, 2020

Kansas City, MO — Feb. 10, 2020 — Agriculture Future of America has elected four new directors to its board.

“AFA’s newest directors represent some of the country’s leading agriculture and food organizations,” said Mark Stewart, AFA president and CEO. “These directors and the companies they represent are essential in our mission to build bridges for young leaders to foster engagement and innovation in food and agriculture.”

New directors include Manda Tweten, Archer Daniels Midland Company; Marc Mears, Cargill Inc.; Julie Anna Potts, The North American Meat Institute; and Chandra Reddy, Tennessee State University. AFA’s board meets three times annually to provide strategic and fiduciary oversight and guidance for the organization. Mears, Potts and Reddy were elected to the board during the annual meeting in February, and Tweten joined the board in November, filling vacancy of the term held by Archer Daniels Midland.

“We are pleased to welcome the new directors to our board,” Stewart said. “We are excited for the leadership and perspective they will add to our organization. Each brings diverse experiences and perspectives to our board and organization.”

Retiring from the board are Jay Akridge, Purdue University; Daren Coppock, Agricultural Retailers Association; and Ruth Kimmelshue, Cargill, Inc. These leaders have volunteered many hours, providing essential leadership and insight to the organization.

“The time and talent Ruth, Jay and Daren invested in AFA has made a significant difference in getting AFA to where we are today,” said Russell Weathers, Board Chair. “As AFA has grown and matured, their insight and direction has helped us make pivotal decisions. I am personally thankful for their service to our mission.”

The AFA board members are recognized leaders from food and agricultural corporations, educational institutions, associations, trade media and production agriculture. In total, the bylaws of the organization allow for 18 seated directors, which are divided into three classes, as well as lifetime directors and a representative from the AFA Alliance, AFA’s young professional group.


AFA Board of Directors

Camille Abrams, CHS Inc.
Travis Becton, John Deere
Teddy Bekele, Land O’Lakes Inc.
Rolando Flores, New Mexico State University
Abe Hughes, Trimble Inc.
Scott Kay, BASF
Joel Mathiowetz, Mathiowetz Family Farms
Marc Mears, Cargill, Inc.
David Nothmann, Valent U.S.A. LLC
Rodney Patterson, Farm Credit
Shelly Phalen, Smithfield Foods
Julie Anna Potts, North American Meat Institute
Chandra Reddy, Tennessee State University
Steve Reno, Corteva Agriscience
Gwyn Schramm, Bayer
Mark Stewart, Agriculture Future of America
Manda Tweten, Archer Daniels Midland Company
Megan Weidner, Bunge North America


Lifetime Members

Sandy Kemper, C2FO
J. Mariner Kemper, UMB Financial Corporation
L. Joshua Sosland, Sosland Publishing Company
Russell Weathers, Agriculture Future of America